Email ID : : 2525 0303
Current Events
Skanda Shashti Mahotsavam - 24/10/14 to 30/10/14

Kumbhabhishekam [1980]

Third [Jeernodharana Ashtabandana] Maha Kumbhabhishekam on 27th March 2000

The Third (Jeernodharana Ashtabandana) Maha Kumbhabhishekam of Thiruchembur Murugan Temple was performed on 27th March 2000 in the benign presence of His Holiness Jagadguru Sanakaracharya Sri Jayendra Saraswathi Swamigal and His Holiness Jagadguru Sanakaracharya Sri Sankara Vijayendra Saraswathi Swamigal of Sri Kanchi Kamakoti Peetham.

His Holiness Jagadguru Sanakaracharya Sri Sankara Vijayendra Saraswathi Swamigal visited Mumbai for the first time to participate in the Maha Kumbhabhishekam functions. A Celebrations Committee was formed to plan and organize the festival.

Shri R.Venkataraman, Former President of India - Chief Patron

Shri C.Subramaniam, former Union Minister and former Governor of Mahatrashtra – Shri P.C.Alexnadar former Governor of Mahatrashtra - Co-Chief Patrons

Shri P.S.Subramaniyam, Chairman of UTI (Unit Trust of India) was the Chairman of the Celebrations Committee. Prominent individuals, corporate leaders and industrialists adorned the celebrations Committee as Patron Members.

This time again, a Uttama Paksha Yagashala (33 Homa Kundams for Lord Muruga which is the maximum as prescribed in the sastras) and one each for Lord Vinayagar, Goddess Durga Devi, Navagrahas, was set up. Similarly, the yagashala for Lord Guruvayurappan and Lord Dharma Sastha was erected. The rituals commenced on 21st December 1991 and the consecration of the temples and the Maha Kumbhabhishekam of the temples were performed on 24th December 1991.

Copyright © 2015. All Rights Reserved. Webmail Login Designed By : HexaTech IT Ventures Pvt Ltd