Email ID : : 2525 0303
Current Events
Skanda Shashti Mahotsavam - 24/10/14 to 30/10/14

Kumbhabhishekam [1980]

The Fourth Maha Kumbhabhishekam 2011

As mentioned in the Annual Report of 2009-10, the Samaj had decided to perform the fourth Maha Kumbhabhishekam of the temple. Accordingly, the Balasthapanam rituals were performed on 29th March 2010, initiating the process to undertake the essential repairs.

Date :

Out of the three suitable dates for the Maha Kumbhabhishekam suggested by Shri Kalyanasundara Sivacharya, the chief Acharya guiding the rituals in our temple, after late Allur Dr Viswanatha Sivacharya, the Samaj decided to perform the Maha Kumbhabhishekam on Wednesday, the 26th January 2011, a national holiday.

The Projects :

As part of the Maha Kumbhabhishekam celebrations, the Samaj undertook the following projects :-

  • Repair, Renovation and restoration of Raja Gopuram, Navagraha and Utsava Mandapams
  • Remaking the Swarnabandhanam for Lord Muruga, Valli & Devasena
  • Remaking the Silver Kavachams for all deities except those for Anjaneyar, Dakshinamurthy and Navagrahas
  • Installation of a Mural of Saint Arunagirinathar
  • Replacing the roofing including the structure at Dwara Vinayakar and Anjaneyar temples
  • Painting the entire Temple Complex
  • Removing before the Kumbhabhishekam and replacing them with new roofing sheets in the temple portion at the terrace to provide cover from sunlight

All these projects were completed in time before the Maha Kumbhabhishekam ceremonies, except the roofing of Dwara Vinayakar and Anjaneyar which is nearing completion as on the date of this report.
Celebrations Committee

After reviewing the estimates given by Shri Kalyanasundara Sivacharya and Shri Narayanan Nambudri and on the basis of the past experience of the three Maha Kumbhabhishekams, the Samaj set a target of Rs. 1.50 Crores for the successful conduct of the functions. For the purpose of mobilizing the required financial resources and organizing the events in a planned manner, a celebrations committee was constituted

Chief Patron Chairman Vice Chairmen Sr. Advocate
& Chairman
President Organising Secretary Treasurer
SHRI Shashi Ruia Chairman, ESSAR Group Shri S.Ramdorai Vice Chairman,
Tata Consultancy Services
Shri S.Venkiteswaran,
Shri G.K.Ramamurthy
Shanmukhapriya Sri Subramania Samaj Shri P.S.Subramaniyan S.Kalyanasundaram

Copyright © 2015. All Rights Reserved. Webmail Login Designed By : HexaTech IT Ventures Pvt Ltd